Diptere

Material : wood / gloss paint
Date : 02/2010

images courtesy Benjamin Boccas

Diptère is two layered tray table. The upper tray is made out of natural wood meanwhile the lower tray is covered with the same gloss paint as the one used for the legs.The graphical two-colored lines of the table are reinforced by the material treatment. Once opened, the colored surface reflects light and contrasts with the matt natural veins of the wood. The legs are made out of two V-shape jambs which provide a very thin design while guaranteeing a perfect stability. This design gives the table an impression of lightness and instability playing with the legs either inclined or straight.

An original unfolding system enables to double the table surface without the need of an external leaf. The two trays hinge on an offset axis to move above the legs. The surface of the table is multiplied by two by unfolding the upper part. Thanks to this opening and closing unfolding system, Diptère offers a transforming device which perfectly adapts everyday life.

The table is available in two sizes : a compact 80×80 version for 4 to 10 people, and a larger 125×90 version for 6 to 12 people. The lower tray color and the nature of the wood are to be chosen among a large variety of colors and tree species.
Diptère is entirely made out of high quality products : the coatings are made with natural wood species protected by high quality glaze, while the gloss paint is composed out of Italian paints.

Diptere

Table dépliable
Matière : bois / peinture laquée
Date : 02/2010

images courtesy Benjamin Boccas

Diptère est une table composée de deux plateaux superposés. La partie supérieure est en bois naturel alors que celle du dessous est revêtue de laque de couleur identique à celle des pieds. Les lignes graphiques bicolores de la table sont renforcées par le traitement des matières. Une fois ouverte, la surface colorée réfléchit la lumière et entre en confrontation avec le coté mat des veines naturelles du bois. Les pieds sont composés de deux montants en V qui permettent d’avoir une ligne très fine tout en assurant une parfaite stabilité. Son dessin, entre les pieds inclinés et les pieds droits , donne à la table  une impression de légèreté et de déséquilibre.
Un dispositif original de dépliage permet de doubler la surface de la table sans rallonges extérieures. Grâce à un axe décentré, les deux plateaux pivotent pour se placer au-dessus des pieds. En dépliant la partie supérieure, la surface de la table est multipliée par deux. En jouant sur son ouverture et sa fermeture, Diptère permet d’avoir une table qui se métamorphose pour s’adapter à la vie de tous les jours.

La table existe en deux dimensions : une compacte de 80x8O pour 4 à 10 personnes et une grande de 125×90 qui accueille de 6 à 12 personnes. Le coloris de la partie inférieure et le choix du bois sont à composer à partir d’un large choix de couleurs et d’essences.
Diptère est entièrement fabriqué avec des produits de haute qualité : les plaquages sont en bois naturel avec un vernis haute protection, la laque est faite à partir de peinture bi-composants italienne.